Match Report 2014: Harlequins U19 vs Waikato U19

Harlequins U19
Waikato U19
Saturday 19th September 2014, 7pm Kickoff
Albert Park, Te Awamutu
Result: Harlequins U19: 11
Waikato U19: 40
Brief summary of first half:

Harley Johnstone (F/R), Bailey Oliedam (F/R), Ben Plumtree(F/R), Trevor Attwood (C), Taylor Rae, Sahn Povey, Drew Bootten, Daniel Popping, Nathan Bonnar, Riki Wathne, Daniel Henderson, Devon Toa, Jordan Harmer, Taylor McGuire, Cole Berridge, Patrick O'Sullivan, Charlie Henare (F/R), Aaron Elliott (F/R), Andrew Rutherford, Hayden Bell (F/R), Musika Manutai, Huw Elias, Shaun Walker

NZ Harlequins kicked off towards the south end of Albert Park. NZ Harlequins start well, with a few drives through the forwards. Waikato get a turnover and kick deep into Harlequin territory. Waikato camp on the Harlequins line and eventually spin it wide and score in the right hand corner in the 7th minute. The try is converted 7-0 to Waikato.

Harlequins launch an attack after the kick off and are rewarded with a penalty, First Five Rikki Wathne steps up and kicks it over. 7-3.

Waikato drive back down to the Harlequins goal line and camp there. The Harlequins defend well, but the Waikato midfield break the defence and score. Try not converted 12-3 to Waikato.

The NZ Harlequins once again work hard in Waikato’s half and are rewarded a penalty. Rikki Wathne is successful and the score is 12-6. Waikato score quickly just before the half time break. 19-6 to Waikato lead.

Halftime Score: 19 - 6 to Waikato U19
Brief summary of second half:

After half time a tense battle of rugby ensues and both teams trade blows, until the 55 minute when Waikato break the deadlock with a try. 24-6.

In the 62 minute NZ Harlequins get themselves back into the game, they work their way up the field. From a lineout drive, Daniel Popping drives over with the help of his teammates, the try is unconverted. 24-11.

Waikato score 2 more tries in the 68th and 70th minute, one converted, bringing the final score to 40-11. A valiant effort by the NZ Harlequins U19 team, to end their 2014 campaign.

Replacements in the second half:
25 Min, Patrick O’Sullivan replaces Taylor Rae
55 Min. Charlie Henare replaces Harley Johnston, Aaron Elliot replaces Ben Plumtree, Andrew Rutherford replaces Daniel Popping, Shaun Walker for Nathan Bonnar, Musika Manutai replaces Taylor Mc Guire, Huw Elias replaces Cole Berridge.

Fulltime score: 40 - 11 to Waikato U19
Player of the Day: Devon Toa

Thank you to our sponsors

Copyright © Harlequins Rugby Club. All Rights Reserved.
chevron-downmenu-circlecross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram